Kirsten’s solo journey to Malaga and back

Kirsten Hearn, a blind colleague of mine, rang me one day to ask me for some advice for travelling to Spain via France on the train. She was going to travel solo to Malaga – no guide dog!

I’ve been to Spain but I cannot say I know much but I did give as much help as I can on access of French SNCF and son John to translate certain useful French phrases she might set to memory.

I’ve been following her adventures on twitter (http://twitter.com/kirstenhearn) and now she has written some of it in her blog. (http://kirstenhearn.wordpress.com/)

I read –

Sorry to be bearer of bad news , the text begins it goes on to tell me of the untimely death of Rowen Jade, a friend and colleague.

I put the phone away and pick up my knitting. I wont believe it. I cant believe it. It must be a misunderstanding.

I put my knitting down and pick up the phone. I listen again to the text. I spell out the name to make sure it is who I think it is. And its true. Rowen is dead!

Yes, I am sorry to be that bearer of bad news, Kirsten. But I debated telling you or having you find out some other way. Should I have left it?

But I am sure that Rowen would know somehow you did it. Bravo Kirsten!

kisten hearn

Kisten Hearn, photo taken at Rowen Jade's funeral

One response to “Kirsten’s solo journey to Malaga and back

  1. Thanks Eleanor. There’s never a good time to get bad news. I’m glad you told me then. Thanks for the plug.

Leave a comment