King’s Cross, St Pancras and a Travelodge

I had a meeting in London and another in Leicester the next day so I thought I would stay overnight instead of having 2 early starts and being overstretched energy wise. My meetings went well on Thursday and Greg Cowan of Architects without Borders who lives nearby popped in with Denise Stevens of Enabled by Design for an update on my apartment adaptation update. Denise is interested because her website is to provide support for those who aim to bring together modern design with assistive devices and Greg because he is interested in accessibility from an architectural perspective.

It is funny how hotel rooms can vary even if they are a chain. This Travelodge is obviously older and the adapts are not as good as those which were in the design from the onset-as is the case in Euston Travelodge. This hotel has several levels and uses a platform lift to negotiate between them which is far from ideal.

However this hotel does not have a roll in shower either and they only have a bath. The room was spacious enough however I couldn’t get to the window to draw back the curtains. The staff came up amost immeadiately and was very helpful.

I went back to have a cup of tea at Greg’s apartment and met his lovely wife, Claire, and went back, stopping to pick up a takeaway for me. The restaurantas around that area cannot be said to be too wheelchair friendly and I only found a kebab place. And it had started to rain!

The next morning  I struggled off to St Pancras – I missed the train I meant to go on because the station itself is confusing in its signage.  I questioned myself if I should have factored in an extra half hour on top of the half hour that I have to give as a disabled passenger needing assistance.

sany00752

Kings Cross Travelodge

Leave a comment